UCL MSSL: Astrophysics Group Seminars 2019
UCL DEPT. OF SPACE & CLIMATE PHYSICS
MULLARD SPACE SCIENCE LABORATORY

Astrophysics Group Meetings and Seminars


Every Thursday afternoon, the Astrophysics Group meets for seminars.

The time allocated to speakers for their presentations is about 45 minutes (plus 15 minutes for questions). Seminars begin at 2.30pm unless stated otherwise.
The seminar is preceded by lunch at a local pub and is followed by coffee and biscuits.

Sam Grafton-Waters and Xiaohao Cai are the seminar organisers. If you have any comments or if you would like to visit MSSL and give a seminar, please drop either Sam or Xiaohao a line.


January - December 2019
Date Title Speaker Expertise
Thursday 3 January

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 10 January, 14:30

Galaxy Outflows in the low-z universe Guido Roberts-Borsani
UCL
galaxy evolution
Thursday 24 January, 14:30

The Emergence of Structure during the epoch of reionization Martin Haehnelt
University of Cambridge
reionization,Lyman-alpha
Thursday 31 January, 14:30

Pulsar timing in Extreme Mass Ratio Binaries Tom Kimpson
MSSL,UCL
general relativity
Thursday 7 February

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 February, 14:00

The early life of millisecond magnetars Ian Jones
University of Southampton
compact objects
Thursday 21 February, 14:00

The Dynamics and Origins of OB associations Nick Wright
Keele University
star formation
Thursday 28 February, 14:30

Title Rebecca Bowler
Oxford University
Topic
Thursday 7 March

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 March, 14:00

The Transformation of Galaxies in the Distant Universe Omar Almaini
University of Nottingham
galaxy formation + evolution
Thursday 21 March, 14:00

A clean sweep for dust in nearby galaxies Matthew Smith
Cardiff University
dust
Thursday 28 March, 14:00

CMB lensing and delensing Anthony Lewis
University of Sussex
cosmology
Thursday 4 April

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 11 April, 14:00

Compact binaries and the gravitational self-force Adam Pound
University of Southampton
gravitational waves,general relativity
Thursday 18 April

EASTER BREAK
Thursday 25 April, 14:30

Giant Broad-line Regions in Low-luminosity Active Galactic Nuclei Nicholas Devereux
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
AGN
Thursday 2 May

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 9 May, 14:00

GAmma-ray burst afterglows as probes of the high-z ISM Patricia Shady
University of Bath
ISM, GRB
Thursday 16 May, 14:00

Strong lensing with ALMA Simon Dye
University of Nottingham
lensing
Thursday 23 May, 14:00

Accurate Imaging in radio interferometry Haoyang Ye
University of Cambridge
Image reconstruction
Thursday 30 May, 14:00

General relativistic weak-field limit and Newtonian N-body simulations Kazuya Koyama
University of Portsmouth
N-body simulations
Thursday 6 June

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Monday 10 June, 14:30

Cold flow accretion and chemical bimodality of MW galaxy Masafumi Noguchi
Tohoku University
accretion, Milky Way
Thursday 13 June, 14:30

Searching for signs of life on Mars Lewis Dartnell
University of Westminster
astrobiology
Thursday 20 June, 14:30

From manual segmentation to deep learning in medical imaging Jack Spencer
University of Exeter
Image reconstrution
Thursday 27 June, 14:30

The Past, Present and Future of Climate Johnathon Holmes
University College London
climate science
Thursday 4 July

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 11 July, 14:30

Our multi-dimensional, time-evolving Galaxy Jason Sanders
University of Cambridge
Milky Way
Thursday 18 July, 14:30

Bayesian Cosmology Alan Heavens
Imperial College
cosmology
Thursday 25 July, 14:30

The Dark Hearts of Galaxies Timothy Davis
University of Cardiff
galaxy evolution
August

SUMMER BREAK
Thursday 5 September

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 12 September, 14:00

How explosive is AGN feeding and feedback? Sergei Nayakshin
University of Leicester
AGN
Thursday 19 September, 14:00

An overview of the Hall in Neustron star crusts Konstantinous Geourouliatos
Durham University
compact objects
Thursday 26 September, 14:30

The Expansion of the Universe with Quasar spectra Andreu Font-Ribera
University College London
cosmology
Thursday 3 October

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 10 October, 14:30

Photoionisation Modelling of the Emission Line Regions in AGN Sam Grafton-Waters
MSSL/UCL
AGN, X-rays
Thursday 17 October, 14:30

Observing Large Scale Structures in the Gamma-Ray Sky Pooja Surajbali
Max Planck Institute
HAWC Gamma-ray observatory
Thursday 24 October, 14:30

Simulation of jet feedback in a realistic cluster environment and some other AGN related stuff Martin Bourne
University of Cambridge
SMBH Feedback
Thursday 31 October, 14:30

Release and capture of interstellar asteroids Walter Dehnen
Ludwig-Maximilians-University
(Galactic) Dynamics
Thursday 7 November

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 November, 14:30

Fast Radio Bursts Evan Keane
Jodrell Bank
SKA
Thursday 21 November, 14:30

The Extremes of Accretion: Ultraluminous X-ray sources and Super-Eddington Pulsars Dom Walton
University of Cambrdige
ULXs
Thursday 28 November, 14:00

The asymmetric double neutron star system PSR J1913+1102 Rob Ferdman
University of East Anglia
Pulsars
Thursday 5 December

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 12 December, 14:30

Title Roman Gold
University of Frankfurt
EHT
Thursday 19 December

Astro Jamboree

Last updated Sept 2019 by Sam Grafton-Waters


Future seminars:

Past seminars:


Mullard Space Science Laboratory - Holmbury St. Mary - Dorking - Surrey - RH5 6NT - Telephone: +44 (0)1483 204100 - Copyright © 1999-2013 UCL


Search by Google