UCL MSSL: Astrophysics Group Seminars 2017
UCL DEPT. OF SPACE & CLIMATE PHYSICS
MULLARD SPACE SCIENCE LABORATORY

Astrophysics Group Meetings and Seminars


Every Thursday afternoon, the Astrophysics Group meets for seminars.

The time allocated to speakers for their presentations is about 45 minutes (plus 15 minutes for questions). Seminars begin at 2.30pm unless stated otherwise.
The seminar is preceded by lunch at a local pub and is followed by coffee and biscuits.

Ellis Owen, Chris Wallis and Ignacio Ferreras are the seminar organisers. If you have any comments or if you would like to visit MSSL and give a seminar, please drop Ellis or Chris a line.


January - December 2017
Date Title Speaker Expertise
Thursday 5 January

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 12 January, 14:30

The Messier Mission David Valls-Gabaud
CEA
statistics, stellar physics, cosmology
Thursday 19 January, 14:00

A look into the black hole and galaxy nursery at z>6
Sadegh Khochfar
ROE
numerical simulations of galaxy formation
Friday 20 January, 14:30

Estimated covariance matrices in large scale structure analyses
Elena Sellentin
Imperial College
cosmology, statistics
Thursday 26 January, 14:30

The mitigation of intrinsic alignments in future high precision weak lensing surveys Lee Whittaker
University of Manchester
cosmology, weak lensing
Thursday 2 February

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 9 February, 14:30

Cosmic Web to Cosmology Donnacha Kirk
UCL
cosmology
Thursday 16 February, 14:00

INTERNAL SEMINAR - It's about Wavelets Jennifer Chan
MSSL-UCL
wavelets and their astronomical applications
Thursday 23 February, 14:30

Very High Energy Gamma-ray Astronomy with H.E.S.S. and CTA Alison Mitchell
MPIK
gamma-ray astronomy
Thursday 2 March

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 9 March, 14:30

The most massive stars and stellar black holes in the Universe Jorick Vink
Armagh Observatory
stellar evolution
Thursday 16 March, 14:30

Surveys of Dark Energy: more than Dark Energy Ofer Lahav
UCL
cosmology
Thursday 23 March, 14:30

Radio Cosmology Richard Battye
University of Manchester
cosmology
Friday 24 March, 14:00

Cosmology beyond power spectrum analysis Dipak Munshi
University of Sussex
cosmology
Thursday 30 March, 14:30

Dwarf-dwarf stripping in the Magellanic Bridge Noelia Noël
University of Surrey
resolved stellar populations
Thursday 6 April

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 13 April, 14:30

EASTER BREAK
Thursday 20 April, 14:30

Dark Matter and the Neutrino Floor Malcolm Fairbairn
King's College London
dark matter, cosmology
Thursday 27 April, 14:30

Unveiling the properties of the first galaxies Nicolas Laporte
UCL
Reionization, galaxy formation and evolution, lensing
Thursday 4 May

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 11 May, 14:30

Convective penetration: toward a new generation of stellar structure models Jane Pratt
University of Exeter
stellar convection
Thursday 18 May, 14:30

Astro group Jamboree
Thursday 25 May, 14:30

The effect of Galactic aberration on the VLBI and Gaia reference frames Jia-Cheng Liu
Nanjing University
galactic reference systems
Searching exoplanets and binary stars using photometric data Ming Yang
Nanjing University
exoplanets
Thursday 1 June

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Mon-Thurs 5-8 June

Euclid Consortium Science Meeting, London
Thursday 15 June, 14:30

Anisotropy probes of dark matter annihilation Shin’ichiro Ando
GRAPPA, University of Amsterdam
particle astrophysics
Thursday 22 June, 14:30

The evolution of galaxy morphology and stellar populations Malcolm Bremer
University of Bristol
high redshift galaxies
Thursday 29 June, 14:30

Asteroseismology and the star-planet connection Mikkel Lund
University of Birmingham
asteroseismology
Thursday 6 July

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 13 July, 14:30

Symmetry, time flow, and millisecond pulsars orbiting around a massive black hole Kinwah Wu
MSSL/UCL
Radiative transfer, GR
Thursday 20 July, 14:30

Multi-wavelength polarimetry of stronly magnetised neutron stars: theoretical modelling and observations Denis González Caniulef
MSSL/UCL
neutron stars
Investigating the magnetised environments of Galaxy Clusters in the radio Luke Pratley
MSSL/UCL
cosmology, radioastronomy
Thursday 27 July, 14:30

Probing the astrophysics and particle physics of WIMPs with direct detection experiments Anne Green
University of Nottingham
dark matter, astroparticle physics
Thursday 3 August, 14:30

Testing Horndeski gravity with 3D weak lensing Alessio Spurio Mancini
Heidelberg University
cosmology
10-31 August

SUMMER BREAK
Thursday 7 September

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 September, 14:30

Bob Nichol
ICG, Portsmouth
cosmology, SNe
Thursday 21 September, 14:30

Adventures in back-yard lensing Russell Smith
Durham University
galaxy formation and evolution, gravitational lensing
Thursday 28 September, 14:30

Forward modelling the Euclid galaxy clustering measurement Katarina Markovič
ICG, Portsmouth
cosmology
Thursday 5 October

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 12 October

Cancelled (due to lack of available rooms)
Thursday 19 October, 14:30

Deciphering the nature of emission and outflows in AGN Missagh Mehdipour
SRON, Netherlands
AGN, X-ray spectroscopy
Thursday 26 October, 14:30

The growth of disks and bulges Stijn Wuyts
University of Bath
galaxy formation and evolution
Thursday 2 November

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 9 November, 14:30


Thursday 30 November, 14:30

A theoretical perspective on emission line galaxies Violeta González-Pérez
University of Portsmouth
galaxy formation theory
Thursday 7 December

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 December, 14:30

TBA Ignacio Ferreras
MSSL/UCL
galaxy formation, stellar populations

Last updated 10 August 2017


Past seminars:


Mullard Space Science Laboratory - Holmbury St. Mary - Dorking - Surrey - RH5 6NT - Telephone: +44 (0)1483 204100 - Copyright © 1999-2013 UCL


Search by Google