UCL MSSL: Astrophysics Group Seminars 2017
UCL DEPT. OF SPACE & CLIMATE PHYSICS
MULLARD SPACE SCIENCE LABORATORY

Astrophysics Group Meetings and Seminars


Every Thursday afternoon, the Astrophysics Group meets for seminars.

The time allocated to speakers for their presentations is about 45 minutes (plus 15 minutes for questions). Seminars begin at 2.30pm unless stated otherwise.
The seminar is preceded by lunch at a local pub and is followed by coffee and biscuits.

Ellis Owen and Ignacio Ferreras are the seminar organisers. If you have any comments or if you would like to visit MSSL and give a seminar, please drop Ellis or Ignacio a line.


January - December 2017
Date Title Speaker Expertise
Thursday 5 January

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 12 January, 14:30

The Messier Mission David Valls-Gabaud
CEA
statistics, stellar physics, cosmology
Thursday 19 January, 14:00

A look into the black hole and galaxy nursery at z>6
Sadegh Khochfar
ROE
numerical simulations of galaxy formation
Friday 20 January, 14:30

Estimated covariance matrices in large scale structure analyses
Elena Sellentin
Imperial College
cosmology, statistics
Thursday 26 January, 14:30

The mitigation of intrinsic alignments in future high precision weak lensing surveys Lee Whittaker
University of Manchester
cosmology, weak lensing
Thursday 2 February

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 9 February, 14:30

Cosmic Web to Cosmology Donnacha Kirk
UCL
cosmology
Thursday 16 February, 14:00

INTERNAL SEMINAR - It's about Wavelets Jennifer Chan
MSSL-UCL
wavelets and their astronomical applications
Thursday 23 February, 14:30

Very High Energy Gamma-ray Astronomy with H.E.S.S. and CTA Alison Mitchell
MPIK
gamma-ray astronomy
Thursday 2 March

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 9 March, 14:30

Jorick Vink
Armagh Observatory
stellar evolution
Thursday 16 March, 14:30

Ofer Lahav
UCL
cosmology
Thursday 23 March, 14:30

Richard Battye
University of Manchester
cosmology
Thursday 30 March, 14:30

Gavin Dalton
Oxford University
galaxy formation, astronomical instrumentation
Thursday 6 April

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 13 April, 14:30

INTERNAL SEMINAR - TBD Mat Page
MSSL-UCL
AGN, GRB, LFs
Thursday 20 April, 14:30

Malcolm Fairbairn
King's College London
dark matter, cosmology
Thursday 27 April, 14:30

Nicolas Laporte
UCL
Reionization, galaxy formation and evolution, lensing
Thursday 4 May

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 11 May, 14:30

Jane Pratt
University of Exeter
stellar convection
Thursday 18 May, 14:30

Internal Jamboree
Thursday 25 May, 14:30

Precision tests of General Relativity with large scale structure Pedro Ferreira
Oxford University
cosmology
Thursday 1 June

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 8 June, 14:30

Violeta Gonzalez-Perez
University of Portsmouth
galaxy formation theory
Thursday 15 June, 14:30

Shin’ichiro Ando
GRAPPA, University of Amsterdam
Thursday 22 June, 14:30

Malcolm Bremer
University of Bristol
high redshift galaxies
Thursday 29 June, 14:30

Mikkel Lund
University of Birmingham
Thursday 6 July

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 13 July, 14:30

TBA Simon Murphy
SIfA/USyd
asteroseismology/exoplanets
Thursday 27 July, 14:30




SUMMER BREAK

Thursday 7 September

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 14 September, 14:30

Bob Nichol
ICG, Portsmouth
cosmology, SNe
Thursday 21 September, 14:30


Thursday 28 September, 14:30


Thursday 5 October

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 12 October, 14:30


Thursday 19 October, 14:30


Thursday 26 October, 14:30


Thursday 2 November

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 9 November, 14:30


Thursday 30 November, 14:30


Thursday 7 December

ASTRO GROUP MEETING

Thursday 14 December, 14:30


Last updated 17 February 2017 — Ellis Owen


Past seminars:


Mullard Space Science Laboratory - Holmbury St. Mary - Dorking - Surrey - RH5 6NT - Telephone: +44 (0)1483 204100 - Copyright © 1999-2013 UCL


Search by Google