UCL MSSL: Astrophysics Group Seminars 2021
UCL DEPT. OF SPACE & CLIMATE PHYSICS
MULLARD SPACE SCIENCE LABORATORY

Astrophysics Group Meetings and Seminars


Every Thursday afternoon, the Astrophysics Group meets for seminars.

The time allocated to speakers for their presentations is about 50 minutes (plus 10 minutes for questions). Seminars begin at 2.30pm unless stated otherwise.
Given the current climate, all seminars are currently done remotely. We hope to have in person seminars again soon!

Paul Kuin is the seminar organiser. If you have any comments or if you would like to visit MSSL and give a seminar, please drop either Paul or Mark a line.


January - December 2021
Date Title Speaker Expertise
Thursday 7 January

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 January, 14:30

The structure of the accretion flow in AGN as revealed by variability - reverberation campaigns and changing look events Chris Done
University of Durham
AGN, X-ray Binaries, Athena
Thursday 21 January, 14:30

Title How to measure Dark Energy - ESA's Euclid Mission Mark Cropper
MSSL
cosmology
Thursday 28 January, 14:30

Title TBC Paula Teixeira
St. Andrews University
Gaia, star formation
Thursday 4 February

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 11 February, 14:30

Title TBC Heather Cegla
University of Warwick
Brown Dwarfs, Exoplanets
Thursday 18 February, 14:30

Title TBC Brian Yu
MSSL
Galactic Outflows
Thursday 25 February, 14:30

Title TBC Rowan Smith
University of Manchester
Star Formation
Thursday 4 March

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 11 March, 14:30

Title TBC Catherine Walsh
University of Leeds
Astrochemistry, planet formation
Thursday 18 March, 14:30


MSSL
Thursday 25 March, 14:30

Title TBC TBC
Institution
Topic
Thursday 1 April

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 8 April

EASTER BREAK
Thursday 15 April, 14:30

GOTO - Gravitational-wave Optical Transient Observer Gavin Ramsay
University of Armagh
GW
Thursday 22 April, 14:30

Title TBC Anurag Deshpande
MSSL
Cosmology, Weak Lensing
Thursday 29 April, 14:30

Title TBC Lina Preston
University of Manchester
Pulsars
Thursday 6 May

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 13 May, 14:30

Title TBC Sarah Casewell
University of Leicester
Brown Dwarfs
Thursday 20 May, 14:30

Title TBC Daisuke Kawata
MSSL
JASMINE mission
Thursday 27 May, 14:30

Title TBC Conny Aerts
Leuven University
Astroseismology, PLATO
Thursday 3 June

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 10 June, 14:30

Title TBC Silvia Toonen
University of Birmingham
GW
Thursday 17 June, 14:30

Title TBC Internal Speaker
University
Topic
Thursday 24 June, 14:30

Title TBC Junjie Mao
University of Strathclyde
AGN, plasma codes, High res. X-ray spectroscopy
Thursday 1 July

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 8 July, 14:30

Title TBC Sebastian Marino
Cambridge University
Debris Disks
Thursday 15 July, 14:30

Title TBC Internal Speaker
University
Topic
Thursday 22 July, 14:30

Title TBC Alkistis Pourtsidou
Queen Mary University London
Cosmology
Thursday 29 July, 14:30

Title TBC Peter Boorman
Astrnomical institute of Czech Acadamy of Sciences
AGN
August

SUMMER BREAK
Thursday 2 September

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 9 September, 14:30

Title TBC Yamila Miguel
Leiden University
Planets & Exoplanets
Thursday 16 September, 14:30

Title TBC Internal Speaker
University
Topic
Thursday 23 September, 14:30

Title TBC Maggie Lieu
University of Nottingham
Cosmology
Thursday 30 September, 14:30

Title TBC Andrea Manrique
Leiden University
Cosmology
Thursday 7 October

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 October, 14:30

Title TBC Matt Darnley
Liverpool John Moore University
Time Domain Astrophysics
Thursday 21 October, 14:30

Title TBC Internal Speaker
University
Topic
Thursday 28 October, 14:30

Title TBC Giovanni Rosotti
Leiden University
Planet formation
Thursday 4 November

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 11 November, 14:30

Title TBC Jamie Salcido Negrete
Liverpool John Moores University
Galaxy Formation and Evolution
Thursday 18 November, 14:30

Title TBC Internal Speaker
University
Topic
Thursday 25 November, 14:30

Title TBC Marika Asgari
University of Edinbrugh
KiDS-1000, cosmology
Thursday 2 December

ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 9 December

ASTRO JAMBOREE

Last updated Jan 2021 by Paul Kuin


Past seminars:


Mullard Space Science Laboratory - Holmbury St. Mary - Dorking - Surrey - RH5 6NT - Telephone: +44 (0)1483 204100 - Copyright © 1999-2013 UCL


Search by Google